Patty Dineen

The view from here

knitting in New York

leave a comment »

So the most amazing thing I saw last weekend when we were in New York City was a young woman who was standing in the middle of a reasonably filled subway car– she was knitting.  Standing up, leaning against a pole now and then for balance, but mostly just swaying and knitting.  I kid you not.  This amazed me for a number of reasons.  For one thing, as a visitor, I can’t imagine not focusing on what’s going on around oneself at all times; for another, it was a complicated cable and lacy patterned scarf that she was knitting.  This woman was concentrating and counting stitches, and, as far as I could tell (I mean I was gaping shamelessly) not dropping a stitch.  An inspiration.

Written by dineenp

April 10, 2008 at 2:01 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment

